Opening hours

The Royal Library of Belgium is open from Monday to Friday, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Smaller Reading Rooms have other opening hours. The details are listed below.

Please note that the Newspaper Reading Room will be closed for renovation from 20 March to 1 April.

You will find the opening hours of Librarium, our shop, the cafeteria and the registration desk on the relevant pages.

The Library is closed

  • on Monday 17 April - Easter Monday
  • on Monday 1 May - Labor Day
  • on Thursday 25 May
  • on Monday 5 June
  • on Friday 21 July - National Day
  • on Tuesday 15 August
  • on Wednesday 1 November and Thursday 2 November
  • on Saturday 11 November
  • on Wednesday 15 November
  • from Monday 25 December 2017 to Monday 1 January 2018

The Library closes at 5 p.m.:

  • on Wednesday 24 May
  • on Tuesday 31 October
  • on Friday 10 November